What Are A Few Things You Can Do To Maintain Your Focus In A World With So Many Distractions

“Where focus goes, energy flows.” - Tony Robbins

It is Saturday morning.

I wake up every Saturday and Sunday morning to work on The Day Warrior.  My newsletter focuses on what we can do to become better versions of ourselves. As a dad, a father, I tend to focus on dad stuff, but it is always my hope that everyone who reads my content can relate to it.

My typical Saturday and Sunday mornings require me to park myself at the local Starbucks for a few hours so I can focus and get some work done. My mom flew into town this week to celebrate Grandparents Day at my kids' school, so I am at the house today. This means I will face more challenges in remaining focused and completing the work I need to complete. The things I typically do to avoid distraction and focus are not in place.

The theme for today's newsletter really will focus on "What are a few things you can do to maintain your focus with many distractions."

I really would like this newsletter to benefit all my readers. There are so many distractions in the modern world today, and they prevent us from focusing on the things that truly value us.

What are your top five distractions?

What things create the most distraction in your life? To deal with the distractions, you must first identify what they are. Pull out a pen and paper and spend ten to fifteen minutes recording them in your journal.

These are my top five. Reach out and let me know what your top five are.

  1. Social Media: Probably the biggest one for me can be social media. It is even more risky because I am always on social media looking for new content and engagement for @thedaywarrior. I always have the excuse that it is my side job and I must be on social media. The constant notifications and the endless scroll on platforms like Instagram, TikTok, and Facebook are designed to keep you engaged, reducing attention spans and productivity.

  2. Smartphones, iPads, Devices: How many times a week do you find your face planted in your smart devices instead of listening to the people most important in your life? When you are out walking, are you enjoying the nature around you, or is your face planted in your phone? Our devices are a constant distraction—probably a form of addiction. Beyond social media, general phone use, including texting, app notifications, and games, constantly interrupts our lives.

  3. Multitasking: This is the biggest lie some self-help books tell. There is no such thing as focus and discipline when trying to multitask. Multitasking is merely the opportunity to screw up more than one thing at a time. Attempting to juggle multiple tasks at once diminishes focus and often results in errors, delays, distractions, failed attempts, delayed timelines, and a long list of less-than-optimal results.

  4. News Media: I had to take a short hiatus from all news media. Today's news media is designed to create emotion, distract, and create as many social media clicks as possible. The 24-hour news cycle can be overwhelming, with constant updates and often distressing content that can draw attention away from your mission-critical tasks and priorities.

  5. Family, Friends, and Other People: I have to laugh because while my family is my top priority, they can be a distraction. As I mentioned above, I have family in town, and even as I was writing this article, my loving wife walked into the room to ask me several questions. This does not mean family is bad or that my wife did anything wrong; it just means that it was a distraction that pulled my attention away from the priority I was focused on.

Family is the distraction we must be most diligent about. Most other distractions are more personal in nature. They involve a personal internal battle between discipline, focus, and action distraction. Family distractions, on the other hand, become more complex. When your family becomes a distraction, you can often have a typical male or dad response, including impatience, short temper, ignoring, and not listening well. I will address this one in more detail below.

Just remember, family distractions can become a double whammy. First, you can become distracted and not be able to complete your mission-critical daily tasks. Second, you can react to distractions poorly, creating hurt feelings and causing unnecessary chaos in the household.

How To Maintain Focus

Maintaining focus in a distracting environment can be challenging, but there are several strategies you can employ to enhance your concentration:

  1. Create/Find a Dedicated Workspace: My number one go-to to prevent distraction. This is also my number one fix for family distractions.  If possible, set up a specific area for work or study where distractions are minimized. This could be a quiet corner of your room or a separate office space. I have a home office. While I love to be at the kitchen table with my family, working on newsletters and blog posts, I cannot multitask between the task at hand and the natural daily chaos of the family home. The result is that I get impatient, am not fully present, and am just not fun to be around. When it is time to focus at home, I need to head to my home office, close the door, and ask the family for a specific amount of time. Since I have kids, having a door leading to my home office rarely prevents distraction. That is why I head to Starbucks early on Saturday and Sunday mornings.

  2. Noise Management: This is an interesting one. I find it interesting because what noises are considered distracting can differ for everyone. I can go to Starbucks and sit with all the average ambient noise of the customers coming and going without being distracted. At home, that same noise and ambient family noise prevents me from any formal deep focus and output. Returning to the Starbucks example, I get bugged by the eating habits of the people around me. That is a distraction that bugs me, but maybe not other people. My typical go-to solution is standard headphones or Noise-Cancelling Headphones. If your environment is particularly noisy, these can be very effective. I'm not too fond of total silence when I am focusing, so I typically have some form of instrumental music in the background.

  3. Organize Your Time: This is just basic, good old-fashioned time management. Set specific times or focus in your day to get the work you need to do. Use tools like calendars or time management apps to schedule your day. Knowing you have allocated time for everything, including breaks, can reduce anxiety about missing out or forgetting tasks. Honestly, this is one I am looking to improve on. I drive my wife crazy sometimes with my laissez-faire approach to planning my day. This creates a lot of inefficiencies and loss of focus.

Implementing these strategies can significantly enhance your ability to focus, even in environments filled with distractions.

Remember, what works for me may not work for you. The strategies listed above can vary from person to person, so it might take some experimentation to find the best combination for you.

Additionally, this is just a few short ideas and I would like to publish future newsletters or training course materials to take an in depth look at this topic. Please let me know your own personal experiences in this area. I would love you hear from you and learn from you.

The Day Warrior

How to find more content from The Day Warrior:

If you enjoyed this newsletter, please subscribe.

If you want to have a deeper discussion about this subject, please get in touch with The Day Warrior.

Follow me on X for daily short and long-form content: @thedaywarrior.

I am also on Instagram: @thedaywarrior.

My website is http:/thedaywarrior.com.